h1

This Watch Is Two Days Slow (And Full Of Jam)

January 28, 2009

 A word on customization, if you please. Nothing is more frustrating to me than the sudden sprouting of boutiques that sell overpriced ‘customized’ clothing. It pains me to think that the masses don’t realize that ‘customized’ just means ‘extra crap thrown on something boring that you could make in your living room in under an hour’. Why someone would want to spend two hundred dollars on a glorified craft project t-shirt is beyond me. Now don’t get me wrong, there is certainly excellent craft work worth the cost, especially on sites like Etsy. It’s the paint splattered jeans and spray painted hyphy t-shirts that set me off. I constantly fight the urge to stand outside these places screaming ” You can do it yourself!!”. 

During my daily style search, i happened upon this Japanese shoe designer, Velvet Jam. At first i was vaguely intrigued at the rivet heavy Chuck Taylor’s, but then it dawned on me, these were just regular Converse shoes tarted up with hundreds of rivets, grommets, lacing, and leather. The worst part was, it wasn’t even well done. I could feel the disappointment welling up, the idea that someone would front three hundred dollars for a slap dash craft project, it leaves me cold. 

Save your poor wallets! Craft it yourselves!

But please for the love of Pete, do not attempt to copy those shoes, your feet and my eyes will hate you for it.

Leave a Reply

