h1

The Languished Lookbook

March 18, 2009

We, the style obsessed, used to have a beautiful obsession.

That obsession, was Shoutfit.

Shoutfit was a neat little website where you and I could post photographs of our stylish togs. It was wonderfully organized. You could tag the photo all over to label every piece of your outfit, describing the brand, price, and where you acquired it. But above all, Shoutfit was wonderful because of its diversity

Unfortunately, Shoutfit died suddenly without so much as a whisper of goodbye. No warnings, the site just disappeared. 

Now, over a year later, it seems that a new website has risen to take Shoutfit’s place. 

Lookbook.

As a devoted fan of Shoutfit, when I heard about this website, I was elated with joy. Finally, a new style site I could obsess over. But I spoke too soon.

Instead of a style website, Lookbook is an interweb hangout for escapees of American Apparel sex dungeons. It’s a Mecca for camera-whore Swedish gay boys with beards, who used to be in some band that played your cousin’s party, but now just work in that used book store down the street. It’s a stomping ground for girls who wear stretch pants, a blouse found in a gutter, gold sunglasses, their grandmother’s costume jewelry, and wrap it all up with the stench of not showering for a week. 

When this is the most popular look on a style website with thousands of members, I fear for the future of fashion. 

It doesn’t help that Lookbook has decided to be an exclusive snot, as it is a ‘invitation only’ community where it’s not really important what your wearing, it’s who your wearing. 

The whole thing makes me sad. It has great potential to b an amazing style community, but trust fund brats have seen to it that we shall never see anything but images of scene kids in 70’s pajamas.

11 comments

  1. I never heard of shoutfit but I do subscribe to the Lookbook feed. I never go to their website though.

    They do have a few great outfits, I do a round up of the ones I like in my links post every Monday and although over about 200 outfits go through my reader every week I only like about 2% of them.


  2. I lament the loss of Shoutfit, mainly because I (SOMEhow) never heard about it till after it had gone under! All the awesome inspiration that could have been had….


  3. I do agree with your assessment of the lookbook site. We can hope that perhaps it will grow & change as time goes on, inspiring some real iconoclastic fashion in the future!


  4. Oh seriously you’ve hit the nail on the head. I never applied to Lookbook because I thought the idea of it being “invitation only” was ridiculous.
    Someone on a forum I visit knew I was into fashion and passed an invite code onto me. I joined out of curiosity but I’ve never posted a thing.
    Such bullshit.


  5. You can catch glimpses of Shoutfit using the Wayback Machine at the internet archive, but it’s just a sad, pale shadow.

    http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.shoutfit.com

    I have no interest in Lookbook – even the page design is awkward and bland. I’m surprised that nothing’s sprung up to replace Shoutfit – nature abhors a vacuum after all.


  6. Hipster fashion still hasn’t died yet? Amazing. I’ve heard of Lookbook when I was on the LJ community Black Cigarettes (which features members who dress in the same still) and I never really paid much attention to it. Now Shoutfit sounds like it was excellent.


  7. I think a lot of fashion/social media sites went the same way as Shoutfit. Fashmatch & even Flip are also no longer. But there are a couple of others besides Lookbook such as Modepass, Chictopia, FashionRiot & IlikeMyStle.

    I hear what you’re saying though, Lookbook is incredibly homogenised. One day we might find something to fill the gap left by Shoutfit. Maybe.


  8. That’s sad, I never heard about Shoutfit. Lookbook is sad, and being in an alternative fashion/subculture and being on there doesn’t really work out. But I do it anyway.


  9. instead of complaining, why not contribute to the solution? start posting your outfits on lookbook and drown out the hipster uniform. pass lookbook invite links onto all your friends of ‘alternative’ fashion.


  10. As lovely as that would be, I cannot post looks of my outfits. It would disrupt my anonymity.


  11. I know this is an old post, but I just found it and it makes me love you a little–along with the rest of this blog. Je t’aime.



Leave a Reply

