h1

Lip Service: The Fail 2009 Line (Part 2)

June 18, 2009

Welcome to the exciting sequel to Part one of my review of Lip Service’s 2009 Fall line. 

LOST VELVET EMPIRE

 

Velvet empire, methinks you should have stayed lost. After fashion broke up with you in the late 70’s, we really never expected you to surface again. But if we ever need an outfit for a ‘Little Lord Faulteroy Gone Wrong’ party, we’ll let you know. 

Also, circular cameo on the back? Where have I seen that before……

 

Let me make it easy for you, putting a large circle on the waist portion of a dress is an amateur mistake. I know that this label is not necessarily known for flattering the figure, but this is just laughable. Seriously, your velvet tunic is erasing whatever waist this girl might have!

It reminds me of those costumes you see in Halloween shops titled ‘Goth Girl’. 

 

LOOKS THAT KILL

Speaking of Halloween outfits…….

I’m not really sure what the title of this line is supposed to mean. Are they looks that kill your eyes? Looks that kill your dignity? Or perhaps, looks that kill any chance of anyone ever taking you seriously in the foreseeable future. 

That flap in the front looks more like a fanny pack than an apron. I wish it was a fanny pack, then she would have somewhere to store snacks. Functional!

Head for the hills! The clergy are bewitched!!

Nothing says ‘fetish’ like a cheap vinyl habit. 

This label has been at it a long time, you would think that by now, they would have figured out how to make a decent pattern that flatters the body. 

This one is my absolute favorite of the entire 2009 line. The sheer level of fail sends chills up my spine. Whomever designed this frightful mess should perhaps rethink their chosen career.

Sorry if this review is not particularly articulate, I suppose that they’ve just made it too easy.

3 comments

  1. The fail, it burns. Someone needs to stop Lip Service. They’re giving respectable Goths a bad name and bad taste.


  2. Hmm, if it were made of just about ANY material besides cheap rubber and didn’t have a look-at-me-I’m-so-goff cross on the bosom, I could actually consider wearing that nun dress.

    Guhhh. I can just picture all the sweat collecting in those get-ups.


  3. I don’t mind the front (and only the front) of the girls velvet jacket. But it would have be be in leather to work. The back is just atrocious.



Leave a Reply

